Ahoj Praha..

Okay. How can I convey the general feeling of madness that has been happening over the last days? Well, let’s just say that I had a failed driving test at the traffic lights of doom; that we maniacally managed to tidy up all of our flat; that I actually went out after dark and came home at night for my end of work party; that I am finally going home; that I don’t remember how home works; that I’m saying farewell to a magical place and some excellent people…

….

London isn’t a patch on this place in many ways, and yet, it’s (it was) definitively MY place.

Our landlady gave us our whole deposit back and is just the most charming woman. We repainted all the walls and cleaned it carefully – but actually she barely looked. People have been telling us left right and centre what a shame it is to lose us. My girls miss out on expensive schooling and easy childcare… But we return to old friendships and many new relationships for our girls.

We return for the goal of making our own home somewhere, where we get to choose the paint colours and buy furniture we want to keep.

We fly tonight and almost everything is done, we have been selling things and and going things away. Our contracts are all cut and we have taxis booked to and from the airport. Our cases are over the weight limit so we have to faff about buying extra weight online (and in the weighing process I discovered I am also over the weight limit by a lot more than I realised (no exercise will do that to me…!) ) and for once I didn’t properly unplug our Macbook charger or put it away… And last night the end dropped into a secret potty-training-puddle while still plugged into the wall. Fizzzzzz!
These are all relatively small things and I hope dearly that where it really counts we continue to have good luck and that there is no immigration stupidness at the airport in the UK (or with the airline).

Wish us luck. We are leaving a land of magic without really having had the time to really get to know it. Sure there are irritating things, but I could absolutely definitely live here again. I’m not sure that will happen.

It is also nice to know that wherever we live and work we leave a trail of people who’d gladly have us again.
Tears aplenty today!

6 thoughts on “Ahoj Praha..

  1. Just for reference when you sit your driving test in the UK… 🙂
    102
    Light signals controlling traffic
    Traffic Light Signals RED means ‘Stop’.
    Wait behind the stop line on the carriageway
    RED AND AMBER also means ‘Stop’.
    Do not pass through or start until GREEN shows GREEN means you may go on if the way is clear. Take special care if you intend to turn left or right and give way to pedestrians who are crossing
    AMBER means ‘Stop’ at the stop line. You may go on only if the AMBER appears after you have crossed the stop line or are so close to it that to pull up might cause an accident

    https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/312214/the-highway-code-light-signals-controlling-traffic.pdf

  2. I wish you the best of luck in your new adventures. I have lived on 3 continents, but I did all my moving as a child. I have a shameful fear that I’d never be able to make a go of it anywhere else. I admire your sense of adventure. Your children will get so much out of not just travelling but actually LIVING different cultures. Thanks for linking with #TwinklyTuesday

Leave a Reply

