HELP!

I am absolutely DREADING going back to work and fear it will ruin our lovely relationship. I can imagine the feelings of confusion and betrayal that the girls might feel, especially Olive.

The biggest issue ahead is the feeding. Ivy already drinks exclusively from a bottle. Olive on the other hand drinks only from the breast.

I need help. I love them both so much, and I know I need to get Olive to drink from a bottle before I go back (or give her the opportunity to feed with auntie) so that she is used to it. But I love breastfeeding her and we worked really hard to get to this point and it feels exactly like sabotage to begin deconstructing this relationship. I know she won’t take a bottle from me so In preparation have to remove myself from the feeding situation completely and let someone else battle with her. It is so emotional.

I plan to express at work and to feed her at around 6am before I leave. Some days I will be home at around 1 so she will have two bottle feeds in that time. Once or twice a week she will have to have three as there are days when we have meetings and I’ll be home at around 4. Then I want to breastfeed all the rest of the time.

Can anyone else tells how they have handled /would handle this?

Xxx

5 thoughts on “HELP!

  1. I know how hard it is to return to work, for so long it’s just been you and your babies, work schedules just haven’t been important.

    Do you have a breast pump? That way you could express and at least your babies will be getting your milk. Also it will then come from a bottle and Olive will hopefully get used to using that. In the passed all three of my children have gone from bottle to breast and back again with no fuss. They seem to only really be interested in getting the milk. I’ve used Tommee Tippee, because they are “closer to nature”.

    Another thing that has helped my children in to have a t-shirt that I have worn to bed for a few nights so it smells like me, it seems to comfort them. Also if you add some milk on it, they’ll really be taken with it. It’s helped me in the passed, when I’ve had to leave them with either a child minder or family member at a young age.

    How long have you got before your return to work?

    I know it sounds odd, but I’ve always been a believer in quality not quantity. Spending 24 hours a day with your child, might not be as good, as you are likely to have other task that you need to do, instead of spending that great hour with your child, where you sing dance and generally have fun. So really don’t beat yourself over going back to work. Something like 70% of women have to return to some form of work nowadays, and it’s only for the money. So just remember that, each day you earn X amount, that covers nappies, clothes, toys and everything else little people need.

    I hope this helps.

    1. Yes, thank you. I have heard of that smelly thing tip and it sounds like a good idea. I go back three week on Tuesday. It has come around unbelievably quickly. They will be 4 months 2 days old.

  2. Ugh! I’m so sorry that its time for you to go back to work! Time just flies by!
    Noah went to a bottle really easily when it was time for me to go back to work. He had no trouble going back and forth from the bottle to the breast. I agree with Abbie that the baby really just seems interested in getting the milk. I’m sure she’ll have no trouble either : )
    I’ve found pumping at work to be trying but I just look at it as I’ve got to do what I have to do. I’ve worked out a routine now and just make it work.
    I’ll be thinking about you!

Leave a Reply

